Levell TG302

Preamble

I bought a 2 MHz signal generator on eBay for £17+£11 (p+p), Levell TG302 Function Generator. The TG303 has a frequency counter, but the TG302 does not.

Maybe it works, maybe not… apparently (according to the vendor) it powers up and has no handle.

Yes, I could have made a signal generator using an Arduino, or a small IC, see Sending out the right signals, but I’ve been meaning to do that for over three years (in order to connect to my first oscilloscope) and still haven’t got around to it so I took a punt and thought I’d get a piece of cheap secondhand lab kit.

The TG302 function generator

 

As similar one, LEVEL FUNCTION GENERATOR TYPE TG302, went for £39.99

 

The TG303 function generator

 

TG303

From Levell TG303 Function Generator / Frequency Counter. Sine, Square, Ramp, £25+£10

Manuals

Basic user guides:

The complete instruction/service manual on eBay: Levell TG302 & TG303 Function Generators Instruction Manual Loc: L-002, £10+£2.16

s-l1600-23

It has 38 pages (as opposed to the paltry four pages in the PDF above) and contains:

  • Circuit Diagram
  • Parts list
  • Schematics
  • etc.

I have scanned this manual, and it is posted here, TG302 and TG303 instruction manual.

About Levell

Levell Electronics has a closed down, and produced oscillators in the 60’s and 70’s. Unfortunately, the TG302 is not listed in these two links:

Leads

It comes with no leads. The cheapest BNC connectors or leads that I could find were:

I thought about getting the 1 m BNC-BNC cable for connection to my oscilloscope. However, I remembered that I had a load of old 10Base2 Ethernet cables – these may be too long and noisy, but I will check them when it arrives.

Arrival

When the function generator turned up, I fixed it up to my oscilloscope, using the thin ethernet cables, and both the TG302 and the thinnet cables work fine.

Also worthy of note

Thurlby Thandar 2MHz Function Generator – TG210, £20+£11 from the same seller

 

Thurlby Thandar 2MHz Function Generator – TG230 – TG230, £28.50+£11

 

Thurlby Thandar Manuals:

 

Tenma 2MHz function generator JUPITER 2010

 

Leave a comment